Dual (or Multiple) Citizenship

Dual citizenship is the result of the interaction of the laws of two countries. People can become dual citizens automatically (normally by birth or marriage), or after successfully applying for the citizenship of another country.

When it comes to dual or multiple citizenship, the world is divided: there are countries whose laws allow their own citizens to acquire another citizenship without losing their present one. In contrast, other countries do not allow the acquisition or holding of another citizenship and the acquisition of another citizenship may lead to the loss of the present citizenship.

Therefore, the acquisition of a second citizenship is only legally possible for citizens of those countries which allow dual citizenship.

The following is an overview of citizenship laws in selected countries with regard to dual citizenship. The information is based on Henley & Partners' interpretation of citizenship legislation in the relevant countries.

Countries which Allow Dual Citizenship

Countries which allow the acquisition of dual citizenship include:

ArmeniaEcuadorIrelandMoldova*Sri Lanka
Austria*Egypt*IsraelMontenegroSt. Kitts and Nevis
AustraliaEl SalvadorItalyNew ZealandSweden
CanadaGeorgia*LebanonPortugalUnited Kingdom
ChileGreeceLithuania*RomaniaUnited States of America
CyprusHungaryMacedoniaSerbiaWestern Samoa

*     Under certain circumstances

Request a Call Back

Have one of our qualified advisors contact you today.

Detailed information on how we process your personal data can be found within Henley & Partners Privacy Policy which is available to you when you click here.

Important: All information is treated with the highest confidentiality and subject to our privacy policy once received by us. The transfer of data contained in this form is protected by strong encryption even while in transit.